While the Cat’s Away, the Mouse will… be Showered with Good Deeds?

Were you one of those kids who practised her Juno Award acceptance speeches in front of the mirror? I wasn’t. But that doesn’t mean I can’t come up with a long list of people to thank when something positive happens.

For all my talk of good deeds, I honestly believe that my household regularly receives far more than we give. An example: Last week my daughter and I briefly ran away from home, leaving my husband to fend for himself. When you consider that he’s not able to cook, clean, feed the fish or even put himself to bed at night, this is exactly the sort of situation in which any and all acts of kindness would be welcome.

Sure enough, they rained down. In fact, my husband was caught in a regular downpour of do-gooders, from the neighbour who brought over baked treats to the family who visited with an entire take-out dinner, from the sister-in-law who slept over – and, for more points, mowed my thigh-high lawn – to the personal care attendants who willingly worked extra hours to make up the shifts I had abandoned. Several people on our street made a point of keeping their eyes and ears open, giving “neighbourhood watch” a whole new meaning.

Because of this veritable cloudburst of kindness, I came home to a clean house, a tidy garden, a stocked fridge and a husband who was well fed and happy… if a bit lonesome for his wife and kid.

So, in true Juno-winner fashion, I am picking up the closest thing near me shaped like a microphone – uh, that would be a stapler – and thanking everyone who had anything to do with it.

Keep the beat pumping.

Leave a Reply

