Senior Moment

If you happen to live in Oklahoma City, U.S.A., you might have witnessed one of the more generous ways to celebrate a big birthday last week.

Doug Eaton was turning 65. So he turned to Facebook for inspiration: How should he mark the milestone? “I got a whole long list of stuff,” he told a reporter. “And one of my friends said, ‘Why don’t you do 65 random acts of kindness?’”

He took the suggestion to heart. But possibly he was daunted by the idea of coming up with 65 different ideas, because instead, Doug ended up doing the same good deed over and over – for 65 minutes straight.

That’s how long the newly minted senior spent on a street corner, handing out crisp five-dollar bills to strangers.

“It’s just been fantastic,” he gushed in an on-the-spot TV interview. Apart from his helper’s high, he was blown away by the people who told him: “I love what you’re doing, but give this to someone who needs it more than I do.” Folks, we call that paying it forward.

The optimism was clearly contagious. “I think this is the craziest guy I have ever seen in my life – and also, it’s fantastic!” a passing driver exclaimed to the reporter. “I am enjoying the moment out here!”

Speaking of enjoying the moment, I’ll be taking a few vacation days, which means you won’t hear from me for a couple of weeks. I care, so wear your sunscreen.

Traffic sign has the word LOVE added to it

Kindness abounds in my community, too: Check out the graffiti I discovered on a recent neighbourhood walk.

Leave a Reply

