“I’ll Need a Volunteer”

You know me as a blogger who doesn’t get paid a cent for writing cheeky stories about cheery news. But in my real life, where I have a mortgage, eat groceries and use light switches, I work as a freelance writer. Often these worlds collide. While researching an upcoming magazine article about Thunder Bay, I discovered a 60-second film about volunteering. You’ll want to watch this. I found it uplifting – but bittersweetly, once I learned that the starring actor, Thunder Bay resident Jari Sarkka, lost his life three weeks ago. Not only did Jari portray an active community volunteer on film, he actually lived it. So here’s to you, Jari. Thanks for the inspiration.

“Kids, just go out and do your best”: A kind soul doing what kind souls do best.

“Kids, just go out and do your best”: A kind soul doing what kind souls do best.

Leave a Reply

