Crowdthanking?

Telling someone “thank you” is most definitely a good deed. Whether they lend you a hand, hold the door for you or let you bump them in line, responding with thanks is a lovely way to acknowledge the person, show your appreciation and make them feel pretty darned worthwhile.

But how about expressing your gratitude on a global level? There needs to be a word for mass-thanking everyone in your life at once. Such was my thought when I read this Facebook note a short while ago, posted by an old friend of mine:

“I want to wish family, friends and those crazy people I know, a great night’s sleep and a wonderful day tomorrow. I know I haven’t told you all enough that I am grateful for knowing you all and that without you I wouldn’t have so many wonderful memories. Mwah!”

In one sweeping status update, my friend managed to cover off on all the fortune in her life, complete with a cyberkiss finish. And I like it, I think it’s a trend that could easily catch on, I just wish I knew what to call it.

So, folks, what’s the word? Batchpraising? Thankbombing? Bulknowledgement? I’m listening…

2 responses to “Crowdthanking?

  1. Linda Ruth Ciglen

    Hmmmm. Wondering if the essential way to “acknowledge the person, show your appreciation and make them feel pretty darned worthwhile” is an individual, personal thank you? Would one indeed feel acknowledged, appreciated and worthwhile being lumped, unnamed, into a batched Facebook status crowdthank? I don’t know …

  2. Well, my friend is connected to 149 pals and family members on Facebook… a series of individual acknowledgements could take rather a long time! I do think it’s sweet to issue a lumpy expression of gratitude that all hundred-and-a-half of these people are in her life… but I don’t mean to suggest this should replace those special, personalized thank yous. May I recommend both?

Leave a Reply

