R.I.P. Archie Andrews

As a preteen, I was a huge fan of Archie comics. My entire digest collection – if I still had it – would have generated quite a buzz on eBay. I admit, in the years since, I haven’t kept up with the zany adventures of Archie Andrews and his hand-drawn entourage. That doesn’t mean I wasn’t a trifle saddened to hear that our favourite red-haired blockhead (whoops, I’m mixing my comic references here) is destined for, sob, a premature death.

Yes, it’s true. In a line of the comics called “Life with Archie,” Archie Andrews’ life will end abruptly before he’s had a chance to reach a ripe old age. Jughead will lose his best friend, Reggie will lose his competition, and Veronica and Betty will always wonder what could have been.

While I don’t know all the details, what I can tell you is that Archie will die a hero. This much, his creators have revealed: Archie will sacrifice himself in order to save someone else’s life.

So while regular Archie readers will mourn his passing, they may find the storyline inspiring. Publisher Jon Goldwater expects fans will “laugh, cry, jump off the edge of their seats,” he said last week in a statement.

Goldwater also noted: “Archie has and always will represent the best in all of us – he’s… good-hearted, humble and inherently honorable.”

Sorry you’re leaving us, Archie. But you’re leaving behind a legacy… if not in real life, at least within a juxtaposed sequence of illustrated panels.

Egad.

Riverdale won’t be the same, ever.

Riverdale won’t be the same, ever.

2 responses to “R.I.P. Archie Andrews

  1. I was a big fan of the “Archie” gang too. I hope they play “Sugar, Sugar” on the radio to honour Archie.

Leave a Reply

