New Kid on the Block

He’s only five, but he makes a lasting impression.

Huxley Briggs (his name sounds tougher than he really is, I promise you) can build wooden blocks. He does this pretty much all by himself. His dad helps a bit, but Huxley can deftly handle a table saw and a sander, a chop saw and a thickness planer. I don’t even know what most of those are.

And since Huxley actually enjoys using all these fancy tools and working with wood, he devotes a lot of his time to it, and has set up a business. It’s called Huxley’s Block Company, based in Whitehorse, Yukon. It sells blocks.

Our little friend talked Betty Stoke Burns, proprietor of Angellina’s Toy Boutique, into stocking the items in her store. I don’t think he had to try very hard, given that Burns got weepy-emotional pretty much as soon as Huxley opened his mouth. (That’s what she admitted to a news reporter, here.)

Now, with every sale of blocks, Burns is donating the proceeds to the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization (she asked Huxley to pick the charity). As for Huxley, although he’s putting some of his own profits into personal savings, he’s also devoting some of it to a good cause as well. This particular charity is a little closer to home – Huxley’s buying knitting supplies for his big sister.

See what I mean? Lasting impression.

I’m still thinking about Huxley Briggs, resident blockmaker. Cute-cute-cute-cute-cute!

I’m still thinking about Huxley Briggs, resident blockmaker. Cute-cute-cute-cute-cute!

8 responses to “New Kid on the Block

  1. That is freakin’ adorable. My folks live in Whitehorse. I am forwarding this to them to tell them to go put in an order! And love the name Huxley Briggs. Sounds like an elf from Harry Potter.

    I love your blog!

    karin 🙂

  2. Lisa, your stories always bring joy, and today, tears of laughter. Thank you for sharing these good deeds. All the best to you and your wonderful family.

  3. That’s lovely feedback, Christine! Thank you so much. And the good wishes go flying right back atcha!

  4. Thank you for writing, Karin! Your folks may have to go on a wait list… apparently right now there’s somewhat of an imbalance between supply and demand (in other words, “cute” sells… fast!).

  5. Hello, on the 21st of December I turn 30 and will be spending the day in bed as I’ve been bedbound for the past 13 years.

    I have published a ’30 before 30′ list and as I’m unable to do them myself I have turned to the internet and media to ask people to do the wishes on my behalf.

    This is my 30 before 30 list
    But here comes the twist,
    Because of my illness and disability
    You will have to do it for me,
    See I have these plans in my head
    But I’m stuck 24/7 in a hospital bed!

    I wondered if you could help please?

    My blog is http://my30wishes.blogspot.com

    An article about it http://www.getsurrey.co.uk/news/surrey-news/bedbound-sufferer-asks-members-public-8166133

    Thank you,

    Vikki

  6. Wow, Vikki! What an intriguing initiative… I will spread the word! (Happy birthday!)

  7. This is so cute! I used to be a little sister in the Big Brothers and Sisters of Canada organization. It was a wonderful experience. This is a great blog! Recently, my boyfriend launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund a Deck of Good Deed cards for kids. Each card has a good deed challenge for the child to complete, in the hopes that they can put a smile on someone’s face. It’s a beautiful project for a product that I think will be an incredible tool for parents, guardians and teachers to teach kids to pay it forward and be kind. Please check it out and pledge if you can! If you see value in The Deck of Good Deeds (and I hope you do!), please spread the word!

    The Kickstarter link: http://bit.ly/deedtags

  8. Thanks, Poornima, for your input and for coming up with your own good deed initiative. Kindness is contagious!

Leave a Reply

