It’s My Search Party and I’ll Cry if I Want to

This funny little story out of Iceland has been making headlines. Organizers of a tour group became alarmed when one of their group members went missing. Their bus had made a stop to look at a volcanic canyon. A passenger, they reported, had left the vehicle and never returned.

A search party was promptly assembled in the community. One of the women who joined in the search was a member of the tour group. I have no way of knowing what went through her mind at first, as she helped the other volunteers who scoured the region on foot and in vehicles. She probably just wanted to be of help. Warms your heart, doesn’t it?

But at some point, this good Samaritan made the connection. The physical description of the missing passenger… well, it was starting to sound sort of familiar.

You’ve anticipated the punch line, am I right? Turns out the woman was tracking herself. She hadn’t actually gone missing. But she had changed her outfit while the bus was stopped, and no one had recognized her when she came back. Instead, they decided she was lost.

I guess nobody bothered to do a head count. I should think that would have been a dead giveaway.

What a way to put Eldgjá on the map. At least the story has a happy ending – I’m pleased to report that no one fell into a volcanic canyon. And I’m sure our story’s hero has learned an important lesson. Next time, don’t bother to freshen up on long road trips. Your seatmate might not like it much, but at least you’ll stick in her mind.

Leave a comment